top of page



Kevin Cleveland wrestled six years in the Dublin School system, starting in 7th grade. In high school, he wrestled for coaches Doug Darnell, Dave Nosker, and Roger Rabold during the 1991 -1994 seasons. As Kevin and his twin brother were small for their age, they had to wrestle off each week for the 103 spot on the Varsity during their Freshman year. Kevin won the most valuable Freshman wrestler that year. He went on to have a very successful wrestling career in high school.

Wrestling was not Kevin's only interest. He was a member of the Dublin High School Marching band and was also in the band when he went to college.

He graduated with a 4.0 grade point average, received several academic scholarships and attended Miami (OH) University.

In March 1995, he passed away at college after a severe allergic reaction. In his memory, a college scholarship fund was created which helped other Dublin high school wrestlers and band members pursue college over the next 17 years.

Doug Darnell chose to honor Kevin's dedication, hard work, and character by creating the Kevin Cleveland Memorial Tournament in January 1996. The Kevin Cleveland Memorial Tournament has been held every January since and is recognized as one of the top tounaments in Central Ohio, drawing teams from all corners of the state. Kevin's family has expressed deep appreciation for the efforts of the Dublin Scioto High School coaches, staff, families, and entire Central Ohio wrestling community for continuing this tradition each year.

Kevin's memory is further honored each year through the awarding of the Kevin Cleveland Award of Excellence. This award is presented annually to the Scioto wrestler who best exhibits Kevin's character, determination, and "excellence".



2021   Dylan Le (repeat)

2020  Dylan Le

2019   Bernie Duran

2018   Jack Rubenkoenig

2017   Kemyon Pannell

2016   Connor Hubschman

2015   (Not Awarded)

2014   Jeff Jarry

2013   Anthony Troccchio

2012   Wesley King

2011   Matt Travis

2010  Alex Gordon

2009  Brad Orange

2008  Walt Champlin

2007  Casey Gordon

2006  Jason Gleditsch

2005  Josh Darnell

2004  Matt Adams

2003  Ben Tavener

2002  Jake Hossfeld

2001  Michael Sires

2000  Tim Leakas

1999  Jason Wilt

1998  Rob Coridan

1997  JR Scott

1996  Todd Homon

bottom of page